The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Alpha Phi Upsilon Chapter, inducted 60 new members during a special ceremony held on April 13, 2015, at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College.
The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programs. At Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College, members must initially achieve and then maintain a 3.5 or higher cumulative grade point average in college courses, demonstrate involvement in campus activities, and accept a leadership role in student organizations.
The Phi Theta Kappa Alpha Phi Upsilon Chapter at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College was chartered on May 13, 1992. The 2015 induction ceremony included current students and previous students who attended Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College during the 2013-2014 academic year.
New members inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Phi Upsilon Chapter at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College on April 13 are:
Sarah Abernathy, Brookston
Stephanie Agius, Cloquet
Spring Aubol, Duluth
Christopher Barousse, Esko
Robert Beavers, Carlton
Michael Beddow, Duluth
Ethan Bell, Jacksonville, FL
Terrence Bell, Chicago, IL
Raeanne Bergren, Brookston
Melanie Berntson, Duluth
Clarice Blaisdell, Cloquet
Molly Blomdahl, Duluth
Drewrez Budreau, Cloquet
Jared Bush, Cloquet
Sara Bush Kenwood, Cloquet
Sean Clark, Saginaw
Meleah Couture, Culver
Alyssa Darr, Duluth
Linda DeRusha, Cloquet
Suzan Desmond, Cloquet
Rita Diver, Cloquet
Dellarae Durfee, Cloquet
Maria Erickson, Duluth
Cheryl Foss, Cloquet
Jeremy Gardner, Baton Rouge, LA
Paige Goetz, Austin
Kayla Gordon, Cloquet
Urusla Grygelko, Askov
Hunter Herzog, Willow River
Nathan Hietala, Cloquet
Andrew Hjelle, Saginaw
Beau Hughes, Duluth
Russel Hughes, Carlton
Jodeen Hutchings, Duluth
Alexandria Johnson, Cloquet
Heather Kass, Cloquet
Taylor Klassen, Carlton
Shilo Klein, Eau Claire, WI
Julie Lagios, Esko
Doreen Lahner, Cloquet
Jodi LaVoie, Duluth
James Mallery, Cloquet
Brenda Martini, Cloquet
Elizabeth Morrison, Cloquet
Lance Northbird, Cloquet
Amanda Olson, Cloquet
Whitney Podgorak, Superior, WI
Keri Redding, Duluth
Christopher Ruberg, Duluth
Alexander Schadewald, Barnum
Anah Schwartz, International Falls
Scott Serre, Duluth
Angeline Skutevik, Cloquet
Nathaniel Smith, Duluth
Patricia Ullan, Superior, WI
Moira Villiard, Duluth
Shannon Westerlund, Aitkin
Jeremy Wilson, Duluth
Jennifer Wright, Sturgeon Lake
Bobbi Zakowitz, Cloquet
The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than three million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges.


I chose FDLTCC because of its size and the curriculum. When I first came here in 2019, I was just looking for what I needed to volunteer, perhaps in a crisis shelter. I met with Don Jarvinen, and the rest is history.

It is awesome here at the FDLTCC Education Program because it is like a family here, if you need help or are struggling with anything, you have quite a few people who will help you out.

My favorite thing about FDLTCC is the people. I’ve met fantastic students, faculty and staff who go above and beyond what I expected.